Russia is known for its magical beauty and endless jaw-dropping attraction spots. Moscow, St.Petersburg, and Valaam Island are the most important and religious pilgrimage centers in Russia. If you want to visit the famed Old Russian wooden architecture, you can visit Kizhi Island and the Black Sea coast; these are just a few known places, but there lie ample unknown places in this land of marvels. Indian citizens are requested to get a visa to gain entry into the regions of Russia.
visa for india from australia
From January 1, 2021, Russian Federation introduced a new Unified e-visa system through which Indian citizens now apply for a Russian visa for short-term visits for 16 days.


How much time do I get to use evisa after receiving it?

The Russian e-Visa will expire after 60 days from the issuance date. This means that you will have to enter Russia with the visa within 60 days from or the visa will be invalid after that. It is required to apply no less than 4 days before you travel to Russia and no earlier than 40 days per your intended date of arrival. Plan your Russia tour within this period.

Can I travel to Russia Visa-Free?

Citizens of around 60 nationalities are not required to have a visa to enter Russia; this is known as a visa waiver; if you are not the residing citizens of these countries and don't even have a diplomatic passport, then you must apply for a visa to Russia before your departure. Currently, citizens of 53 countries can apply for e-visa online, and India is one of them.

What time does it take to approve my visa after the submission of my application?

It takes around four days to receive an e-Visa. It takes more time if Russian immigration required additional information from you.


You can enter Russia once with the unified e-visa, but if you have decided to leave the country; you have to purchase another visa to re-enter the country.

Which area in Russia requires special permits to visit?

You'll require a special travel permit to enter some or all of the following regions in Russia:

  • Region of Astrakhan Oblast
  • Region of Kamchatka Krai
  • Region of Primorsky Krai
  • Region of Krasnoyarsk Krai
  • Region of Orenburg Oblast
  • Region of Nizhny Novgorod Oblast
  • Parts of Chelyabinsk Oblast.
  • All the islands of Russia, except Gogland, Gulf of Finland, and the south coast of the Gulf of Finland
  • Parts of Moscow Oblast
  • 15% of Kaliningrad Oblast
  • Region of Volgograd Oblast
  • Region of The Republic of Mordovia
  • The Republic of Karelia and parts of Murmansk Oblast
  • A specific area of Arkhangelsk Oblast which includes the southern province of Novaya Zemlya island and the Komi Republic
  • A specific area of Sverdlovsk Oblast
  • Chukotka Autonomous Okrug
  • Yamalo-Nenets Autonomous Okrug Region.
  • North Ossetia-Alania, 45% of the territory.
How many days can I live in Russia while holding an evisa to Russia?

E-visa allows visa holders to stay for up to 16 days in the country from the visitor's entry date.

The Russian e-visa Program

A valid visa is required to enter the Russian Federation. Any which ways you have to apply for a visa and wait for it to get approved before entering Russia

Do you have more questions? Great, we can help. You can send us your query in the chatbox as we are available round the clock 24/7

eVisa Mart
Check Visa Requirements
Start New Application
Types of Visa

Tourist eVisa